The Five Fields of Knowledge


The Five Fields of Knowledge

Knowledge of Tibetan culture is traditionally classified into five great ‘Fields of Knowledge’ (rig gnas che ba lnga) or ‘Five Sciences’. The London Institute of Tibetan Studies offers lectures and courses related to the five Fields of Knowledge. The Institute also offers links to other academic bodies such as the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) in London and other branches of the International Shang Shung Institute.

Art (bzo rig pa)

Medicine (gso ba rig pa)

Language and Grammar (sgra rig pa)

Logic (gtan tshig rig pa)

Buddhist Studies / Meditation (nang don rig pa)

Go to top